Export drawing to older DXF version, retain exact text geometry

From a QCAD user:

How can I export my drawing in an older DXF version and make sure that text comes across exactly as in QCAD for use in another application XY?

You can export to DXF R12, R14, etc. using File > Save As… and choose the desired DXF version from the file format choices.

To make sure that text comes across exactly as in QCAD, proceed as follows:

  1. Select all texts (for example using the selection filter)
  2. Modify > Explode
  3. If there are still texts (multi line texts that were exploded into simple texts in step 2), repeat step 2
  4. File > Save As… and choose a new file name as this is an export for your target software only and no longer the master file. For example choose file name “myfile_r14.dxf” or similar to clearly distinguish master from export.